Confirmed Starting XI: Manchester United vs Ajax – Smalling & Mata start

by BobbyT 0

Manchester United Football Club takes on Ajax this evening, in a game that’ll truly define our season. The Red Devils will be hoping to lift the trophy not only for personal pride but for the city of Manchester, after the devastating attack that took place on Monday night.

The starting line-up is in. As expect, Sergio Romero keeps his place in goal and I have absolutely no problem with that decision. He has been outstanding all season long in Europe, and let us hope that continues this evening.

Chris Smalling comes into the side with Phil Jones having to settle for a spot on the bench. Daley Blind will play, with Antonio Valencia and Matteo Darmian making up the back four.

Marouane Fellaini, Ander Herrera and Paul Pogba make up the midfield trio, and I’m praying that the big Belgian doesn’t do anything stupid, whilst allowing the other two to bomb forward and create opportunities.

The biggest surprise to me is to see Juan Mata starting. I thought for all the world that Jesse Lingard would start, but I’m happy that the Spaniard is starting. Henrikh Mkhitaryan plays, as does Marcus Rashford.

Confirmed XI

Romero, Valencia, Smalling, Blind, Darmian, Fellaini, Herrera, Pogba, Mata, Rashford, Mkhitaryan.

Subs: De Gea, Fosu-Mensah, Jones, Carrick, Lingard, Martial, Rooney.


Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.